Kimberly’s review of Three Sisters by Susan Mallery

TITLE: Three Sisters
SERIES #: Blackberry Island #2
CHARACTERS: Andi/Boston/Deanna
AUTHOR: Susan Mallery

After Andi Gordon is jilted at the altar, she makes the most impetuous decision of her life – buying one of the famed Three Sisters Queen Anne houses on Blackberry Island. Now the proud-ish owner of the ugly duckling of the trio, she plans to open her own pediatric office on the first floor, just as soon as her hunky contractor completes the work. Andi’s new future may be coming together, but the truth is she’s just as badly in need of a major renovation as her house.

When Deanna Phillips confronts her husband about a suspected affair, she opens up a Pandora’s Box of unhappiness. And he claims that she is the problem. The terrible thing is, he’s right. In her quest to be the perfect woman, she’s lost herself, and she’s in danger of losing her entire family if things don’t change.

Next door, artist Boston King thought she and her college sweetheart would be married forever. Their passion for one other has always seemed indestructible. But after tragedy tears them apart, she’s not so sure. Now it’s time for them to move forward, with or without one another.

Thrown together by fate and geography, and bound by the strongest of friendships, these three women will discover what they’re really made of: laughter, tears, love and all.


These are the best words to describe the ladies of the houses known as the Three Sister. One friend needs to learn to live again after the death of her baby. One friend needs to learn to love and trust again after a relationship ends. And one just needs to learn how to laugh and not take life so seriously.

This is not a story of romance (but of course there is some). However this is a story about love. Learning to love yourself and the women who have become your friends. Each story is told only from the female point of view with three different yet intertwined stories. They are heartbreaking and emotional. The stories leave you sad, angry, happy and renewed. The women that Susan Mallery has given us are so different that at first I thought I wonder which one of these women I will relate to and I found I somehow related to all of them in some way. I was the woman left with a broken heart wondering if I should or could love again, I was the woman who had lost something so incredibly special I wondered if I could be whole again and I was the woman who had done everything to be the woman I was supposed to be and was not sure if it was enough. I think every woman has been these women at some point in their lives. No, not all at once but over time and years.

These women were so poignant that it was hard not to feel the emotions of each as I read their stories and finally decided to just stop trying to fight the feelings and embrace them. I cried, I smiled, I wanted to be at their table having wine and giving them my opinion of what they needed to do.

This is not Fool’s Gold. This is real life encompassed in one single book. How Susan Mallery got through the writing of this book with all the emotions she poured into it I will never know but I am glad she did. I am a better person for “knowing” these three women because I see myself in each of them and realize every woman should spend more time LIVING ~ LOVING ~ AND LAUGHING.

I received a complimentary copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress. Designed by WooThemes